A very chilly Christmas | Annapolis, Maryland family photographer


They braved the cold, they braved the ice, they braved the snow…

Jessica, the oldest daughter of the Huggins family from Westminster, surprised mom and dad on Christmas with a gift certificate for a family photo shoot…unfortunately the weather had other plans for the day that we had scheduled it…the day after Christmas. The snow came, then the wind…as I spoke to Jessica on the phone, we reluctantly cancelled the shoot and planned on meeting in Annapolis the next day to give it a try. I was so stressed out…how was I going to pull this off….the wind alone was pretty brutal and the streets in downtown Annapolis covered in ice and snow. BUT to my surprise, this family was all for it…maybe not right away as the wind whipped around the State House for our first group shot. Hats had to come off and the looks of “oh my god, I am so cold” had to stop for a brief moment while I clicked away. This family of 7 were troopers and I can’t thank them enough for it! We trekked around downtown for about an hour before making our way into Hard Bean Coffee and Booksellers to warm up over some nice steaming cups of hot chocolate and some chill time before heading back out for a few more shots.

Besides the fact that they all toughed it out and remained in good spirits during the entire shoot, I just adored this family. The three boys, Evan, Brandon and CJ, who are all in college (Elon, Duke and American) and Jessica who just graduated and is living and working in Florida and the youngest sibling, Brianna were all a pleasure to be around. Not to mention the fact that they all are beautiful/good-looking. John and Julia (mom and dad), with their calm and cool personalities rounded out the hilarious group. It was really fun getting to know a little bit about them and seeing how they all interacted with each other. Typical brother and sister behaviour was present as I snapped a few shots of the siblings getting goofy with each other.

Thanks Jessica for setting up the shoot for your family. I’m glad that you chose me to photograph your whole family for the first time since Brianna was little and that you will have these photos for a long time…or until we meet again in warmer weather 🙂

Happy New Year Huggins family!










Leave a comment