Deck the Halls | Annapolis family photographer


This past Friday I had one of my most fun family photo shoots ever. I didn’t know a thing about this family before I arrived and I was a bit nervous because of how cold the weather had become. They wanted to do half the shoot outdoors in the woods and trails behind their home and the other half as an indoor candid shoot while they decorated for Christmas.
That all changed the moment I walked in the door and met mom and Dad, Lynne & Chip and the girls, Hunter and Hayley, they welcomed me in like I was part of the family.
After bundling up for our walk in the woods, we headed out into the cold. It took awhile to get little Hayley to smile for me, but once I cracked the code, she was all smiles and bubbly the rest of the night.
After roaming around the woods and finding some nice little spots, we decided that we were cold and headed indoors.

As the family got ready to decorate the living room and tree for Christmas, I took advantage of the down time to photograph their very photogenic cat…who eventually got put into a Santa outfit. He was quite the character and quite a poser too!

Then, the decorating began, and little Hayley perked right up and showed me that she wasn’t shy at all. The family was so funny as they donned their Santa hats (yes, I wore one as well) and each took on a job placing lights on the tree, wrapping garland around the branches and hanging the ornaments. Lynne has a tradition where they each decorate a wreath to be hung on the windows of the home. Each one took their wreaths and added there own special touch while I documented the tradition.

I loved this shoot because rarely does a family just let me document their traditions…I love doing this because it’s real and these are the memories that they would want to remember…not all the posed shots.

Thank you Lynne, Chip, Hunter and Hayley for being so welcoming and trusting me to be your photographer for the holiday! I had so much fun with you all…I could have stayed all night and kept taking photos. Thanks also for the wonderful glass of wine…I think that was a first and much appreciated 🙂








Leave a comment