I’m going to India!

Hi everyone…As many of you already know, I am a photojournalist based in Annapolis, MD. I have an amazing opportunity to travel to India for one month so that I can photograph for a couple of non-profits and give my work to them to use so that they can promote their organization and raise money.

For the first two weeks, I will be traveling with an amazing workshop out of DC called Momenta Workshops (http://momentaworkshops.com/). They are pairing me up with 1-2 non-profits that I will work with over the course of two weeks. During that time, my mentors from Momenta will guide me through the story-telling process, critique my work and teach me new multimedia skills to further enhance my work. One of the small non-profits that I will be working with is a girls ashram. I will be documenting them using still photography as well as sound clips to create a body of work as well as a multimedia presentation. (More details to come about the other non profits I will be helping.)

After the Momenta workshop ends, I will continue to travel through India and work on another personal project as well as some work with another non-profit (still planning, more details to come as I solidify the end of the trip).

Your donation would help offset some of the many costs that I will be paying for out of my own pocket, so every little bit helps. I will be donating all my work back to the 2 non-profits that I will work with while I’m there and will not be making any money back home during that time, so anything you can give to help, is very much appreciated!

Your donation will go toward these expenses:
flight: $1300 (approx)
workshop (includes, food and lodging for 2 weeks) $4500
immunizations/medicine: $1200
two weeks after workshop expenses: $1000+
passport & visa: $300
supplies/camera gear needed: $1000+
So total cost for the whole trip ranges anywhere from $8000-10,000

You ask why the heck am I doing this…well:
I have a love of documentary photography that I’ve been feeding with little projects here & there over the years…but now I am ready to jump right into the world of humanitarian documentary photography and take my career to another level. Momenta workshops is my ticket toward achieving that goal so that I can continue to travel and do more projects like this all over the world (and hopefully make a living doing it!)
I am passionate about using my photography and multimedia work for good so that others can benefit from it and in turn have a better chance at a wonderful life.

When I return, I plan on having an open slide show discussion in Annapolis, MD to share my stories and photos with the community.

Please understand that I am not a non-profit organization, and neither is Momenta…so this donation can not be written off as a non-profit donation.

December 10th from 6-9pm I will be having a fundraiser in downtown Annapolis with great Indian munchies, wine, music, henna and a great silent auction…so if you would like to come support me in that way, I’d love to have you! There have been some awesome donations by local businesses including private yoga, pilates, and massage sessions, hand-crafted jewelry, art supplies, art and much much more. Come join me and have a glass of wine and soak in a bit of Indian culture.

Please email me for any questions or for more information about the fundraiser:
alisonharbaugh@gmail.com

One response to “I’m going to India!

  1. Ali, I’m so excited for you to be taking on such a grand adventure. I can tell you took the lessons from A Million Miles in a Thousand Years to heart. You inspire me to be daring in my life!

Leave a comment