Brrrrrrrrrrrrr! | Maryland wedding photographer

I shot my last wedding of the season Thanksgiving weekend…it’s a bitter-sweet moment for me. The end of a wedding season means that I have my weekends back…yeah….but it also means the year is coming to a close and that I must move forward to the marketing end of my business and start working on next year’s clients…not the most fun thing to do as a creative person.

This wedding was pretty special though. I’ve known Lynn and Sean for a while now…though not very well, I’ve always admired the people that they are together and individually. Sean and Lynn are very warm people, always making you feel special when they see you. When Lynn asked me to shoot their wedding, I was very excited because I knew that it would be a blast. Sean & his brother (and best man) Kevin play in The Gecko’s, a much-loved band in Annapolis…which has steel drums that Kevin makes.

The wedding was in Ocean City, MD. The ceremony was a simple catholic ceremony and the reception was held at the beautiful Lighthouse Sound Restaurant which is located on a bay front golf course. After a wonderful ceremony, we hurried over to Lighthouse Sound to get the group photos quickly done…now, I hate to rush any photos, but we had a few major factors working against us. One was the sun…it sets so early in late November that we had to grab the last bits of daylight, two was the little bit of time to sneak in the group shots before the reception officially began and three was THE COLD! I can’t tell you how cold it was…and windy. Luckily I had some hearty subjects who didn’t care one bit about running out of the heated reception area to stand in for a family shot or two. Then it was on to the wedding party. I usually like to spend at least 15-30 minutes with them, but they weren’t having it and neither were my fingers. So we quickly got the group shots finished and some guy only and gal only shots and let them run back in to enjoy their cocktails in the comfort of the heat.
Lynn and Sean…I wasn’t letting them off easy. I HAD to get some nice shots of them by the water as the sun began to set. So, we hopped in a golf cart (with plastic panels..which helped a bit) and went to the closest area to do some portraits. They were troopers…and I was very impressed and pleased how agreeable they were to stand out in the cold…I was starting to lose feeling in my hands so we called it a wrap and headed indoors.

The reception was so cozy as a nice fire blazed away in a large hearth in the center of the room. Outside, two fire pits burned to add even more ambiance to the party. Lynn and Sean were introduced to rounds of applause and whistles. After a yummy dinner, the first dance and speeches took their place in the wedding timeline. The speeches were incredibly moving as both fathers gave their well wishes to the newly wed couple and then Sean’s brother Kevin followed by Lynn’s twin sister Laura brought many in the room to tears. There was love all over that room.

The best part of the evening was when the Gecko’s set up their steel drums and plugged in their guitars and performed for the couple and their most special guests. The room was on fire as the guests sang along to Gecko’s tunes and kids danced around the floor. Next, Lynn’s uncle got his chance in the spotlight as he sang “Glory of Love” with almost all the guests joining in and then following it up with “You are my Sunshine”…which I believe everyone, including me was singing along to.

Lynn and Sean left the party to a tunnel of sparklers and hopped in their limo to start their new life together.

Thank you both for inviting me to join in the fun and document your very special day….you have a most beautiful group of friends and family that all made me feel welcome just like you both always do.
Much love to you both.





href=”https://frecklephotography.files.wordpress.com/2010/12/lynn-sean-10-of-57.jpg”>






















Leave a comment