Crisp November wedding | Maryland wedding photographer


A few weekends ago, my trusty second shooter Arianne and I photographed a beautiful wedding in Severna Park for Rebekah and Ed. I didn’t know much about this couple going into the big day because they lived in Boston and couldn’t quite rush home to chat with me about the wedding day plans. I first found out about the couple through her very wonderful mother. I met with her at the family home in Arnold…just down the street from my house and she filled me in on what Bekah and Ed were looking for. It’s hard to envision the day without personally meeting the bride & groom and seeing what their personalities are like, so I was happy when just about a month ago, I got to finally meet Bekah on a very rainy day. I was immeadiately impressed by her by the fact that she rode her bike and got all muddy in the rain to come meet me at a local coffee shop. I knew then that I did NOT have a bridezilla on my hands.

Actually, she was so far from a bridezilla and Ed was as sweet and kind as can be that the whole day seemed pretty easy. That’s saying alot because I was pretty crazed about this wedding when I realized that daylight savings time was the night before and I was losing a whole hour of sun! Yikes! Somehow though, Arianne and I pulled it off and got all the immeadiate family shots that they requested and even a giant group photo of the whole party outside of the church while I stood on a very tall ladder…did I mention that I am afraid of heights!?

The ceremony was very touching, with one of the best wedding “sermons” I’ve ever heard, a beautiful duet sung by her friend and her sister and a very giddy Bekah whose smile radiated during the entire ceremony. The church was filled with family and friends and you could feel the love in the room.

The reception, which was held at the Chartwell Country Club in Severna Park, was a very nice change from alot of the weddings that I’ve shot this season. Most of the receptions turn into a big party with lots of crazy dancing all night long. Not that Bekah and Ed’s reception wasn’t a party atmosphere, but the level of sophistication that they took it to was a pleasant contrast. Smooth moves were all over the dance floor as husbands twirled around the floor with their wives. It’s so nice to see couples of all ages embraceing the love that was felt that night between Bekah and Ed and joining in on all the fun. Another fun little added bonus to the reception was a photo station that Arianne and I set up near the dance floor. Bekah’s Dad provided a trunk full of hilarious costume accessories and all the guests dug right in and showed their goofy side for the camera.

Bekah and Ed, thank you so much for having us be a part of your very special day, it was so wonderful to watch the two of you together dancing the first dance as husband and wife. You two make a beautiful couple! Congrats and good luck in your new home in Tennessee!



















Leave a comment